Indigenous Sports Gallery

The Indigenous Sport Gallery recognizes and celebrates Indigenous athletes’ contributions to sport and well-being within the Wood Buffalo region.

Highlighted athletes have been chosen for their exemplary balance of the aspects of well-being within their lives and communities.

“Just as the Arctic Winter Games are an expression of sporting achievement, development and culture, the Sport Gallery reflects the same values, while recognizing a person’s admirable balance of well-being within their lives and communities and also honour the time and effort residents have put into their community,” Allison Flett, Co-Chair of the Host Society’s Culture Committee. “This gallery will contribute to the conversation about Indigenous excellence in sport within Wood Buffalo and inspire youth to strive for future personal greatness.”

This initiative supports Truth and Reconciliation CTA #87, nominating and celebrating Indigenous athletes from Wood Buffalo.


The Indigenous Sport Gallery inspired by the stories of the honourees will travel throughout Wood Buffalo during the 2023 Arctic Winter Games and during the lead-up Torch Relay events.

Indigenous Sport Gallery Honourees include:

Local Legend

Lawrence Bull Powder – Fort McKay First Nation

Keanan Cardinal – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Julien Cardinal – Fort Chipewyan Métis

Albert Nokohoo – Chipewyan Prairie First Nation

Danny Lindstrom – Fort McMurray 468 First Nation

Mike Cardinal – Fort McMurray Métis



Dawson King – Hay River Métis

Detonaze Paulette – Smith’s Landing First Nation

Connor Tuccaro – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Mae-Belle Fraser – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Mason Wanderingspirit – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Cash Brebant – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Ryder Carroll – Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

Brielle Mercredi – Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

Arianna Perreault – Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

Corbin Cyprien – Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

Tayden Shott – Fort McKay First Nation

Alicia Gladue – Fort McKay First Nation

Jayden Shott – Fort McKay Métis Nation

Ben Asadi – Fort McKay Métis Nation

Bear Croucher – Fort McMurray 468 First Nation

Presley Hodgson – Fort McMurray 468 First Nation

Riley Bourque – Willow Lake Métis Nation

Landon Bourque – Willow Lake Métis Nation

Lucas Thompson – Fort McMurray Métis

Shania Desjarlais – Conklin Metis Local 193

Skye Quintal-Janvier – Chipewyan Prairie First Nation


Community Builder

Dustin Nokohoo – Chipewyan Prairie First Nation

Verna Quintal-Janvier – Conklin Métis Local 193

Shay Laurent – Fort McKay First Nation

Bernadette Dumais – Fort McMurray 468 First Nation

Angela Marcel – Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation

Nathan Whiteknife – Mikisew Cree First Nation

Judy Ann Cardinal – Fort Chipewyan Métis Nation


Regional Community Builder

David Bouchier – Fort McKay First Nation

Nicole Bourque-Bouchier – Mikisew Cree First Nation


Theme Song Celebrating Culture

The Wood Buffalo 2023 Arctic Winter Games theme song is a cultural celebration of our region and the event itself.

The creation and use of a theme song not only inspires and motivates participants but also adds to the total Games experience for participants, visitors and volunteers.

The following artists were selected to help write, produce and record the official Theme Song of the Wood Buffalo 2023 Arctic Winter Games!

Jerome Cardinal – Fort Chipewyan

Darren Mercerdi – Fort Chipewyan

Kaydence Gladue – Fort McKay

Dan Tulk – Fort McMurray

Daisy Mella – Fort McMurray

Rory O’Hern – Fort McMurray

Zion Afuang – Fort McMurray

Katie Williams – Fort McMurray


Listen to the theme song at

YMM Weekly
We bring you the current, the quirky, and the uniquely Fort McMurray what’s-a-shakin’s.

Subscribe now so you don’t miss out on all the latest news, stories and fun in YMM!

No, thank you. I do not want.
Safe & Secure - No spam!